Happy Fourth of July!

Independence Day is my favorite holiday of all time.  When I was little, I spent all day at the pool, came home and ate hamburgers and went to watch fireworks with the family.  I even made my first cake for the Fourth of July.  I was probably 8 or 9.  I need to dig up that picture.  I feel a ton of patriotism for the good old U. S. of A.  I feel pride when I see the flag and sing the national anthem.  The individual freedoms that we enjoy every day are very special and I am thankful to be born here.

Now that I am older (umm, not old), and since we have been in Hoboken for a full year, this will be the second year we get to watch the fireworks over the Hudson River, which is basically our backyard.  We went to a cookout for Independence Day over the weekend, and I brought this cake.  I found it on Foodgawker (such a fun app) and I had to make it.  Thanks to 17 and Baking for the awesome instructions.  I used the Red Velvet Cake recipe for the Blue and Red layers and the Cream Cheese Icing from the same recipe (I doubled it).  Thanks to Sprinkle Bakes for the bit of advice on adding a touch of purple food dye to the blue layer to make it blue and not blue with a green tinge.

I used yet another cake recipe from the Whimsical Bakehouse - the White Butter Cake.  It was a great cake to work with – light and fluffy, yet not too tender.  I cut the recipe in half but the recipe below is a whole recipe.  I hope ya’ll have a fabulous Fourth!

White Butter Cake

Ingredients
1 1/2 sticks unsalted butter
2 cups sugar
1 1/2 teaspoons salt
3 1/3 cups cake flour
1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
3/4 teaspoon cream of tartar
1 1/4 cup milk
3/4 teaspoon pure vanilla
3/4 cup egg whites
1/2 cup sugar

Directions
1.  Grease two 10 x 3 inch (or 9 x 3 inch if you want taller layers) round pans.  Have all ingredients at room temperature.

2.  In the bowl of an electric mixer, beat at high speed until light and fluffy: butter, sugar, salt.

3.  On a piece of wax paper, sift the cake flour, baking powder and cream of tartar.

4.  Ad the dry ingredients to the butter mixture alternately with the milk and vanilla.

5.  In a separate bowl, beat the egg whites until foamy.  Continue beating at high speed while gradually adding the 1/2 cup of sugar.  When stiff peaks form, fold the whites into the cake batter with a rubber spatula.  Blend just until the whties are evenly distributed.

6.  Pour into the prepared cake pans.  Cook for 20-30 minutes.

One thought on “Happy Fourth of July!

  1. That is totally the cutest cake I’ve ever seen. And I thought those ones with white frosting and strawberry stripes and blueberry star section were creative! Yum!

Leave a Reply

