All You Need is Love

Due to our schedules, and many couples’ schedules, we celebrated Valentine’s Day with a special meal over the weekend.  I almost never prepare beef so for the second year in a row, I made filets. Over time, I have been given a complex about cooking steaks on the stove instead of the grill.  No more.  Ina Garten has a method that is truly perfect. I went all out and bought very high quality filets from Whole Paycheck and followed her instructions very closely.  I am not a griller, so correct me if I am wrong, but it seems very challenging to control the heat on a grill.  With this method, you have the control!  The next time you are looking to please your meat-loving sweetie, look no further!

I paired the filets with our favorite pureed cauliflower, sautéed mushrooms, spinach salad with warm bacon dressing, and a Chateau St. Michelle (2008) cabernet.  After a little snuggle time on the couch with season two of “The Wire,” we topped the whole meal off with Kevin and Amanda’s Chocolate Chip Lava Cookies.  I think Sparky (my pet name for my husband) was feeling the love.

Leave a Reply

