Leap of Faith

Happy Leap Day, Ya’ll!  I have been trying to think of what I was up to last Leap Day but I cannot remember for the life of me.  Getting old.  That’s me.  What I am not getting is less creative.  In fact, the #foodiepenpals program is awesome because I received a few foods that I wouldn’t necessarily purchase.   Case in point: pumpkin gnocchi from Earth Fare Market.  After abandoning Sparky last weekend for a girls weekend, I had been thinking about a nice welcome back meal for my return.  I settled on the gnocchi because it was a weeknight and the gnocchi cooks almost as fast as it takes to boil water.  I did a little internet searching for sauces that would compliment my little pumpkin pillows but there was slim pickings.  I had to create something on my own.  I am not a big recipe creator.  I worry about people thinking that I am stealing from them but in the past couple months, due to lack of time to scour the internet for recipes, there has been more winging it in the kitchen.  I think this was the first thing that was worth sharing with ya’ll.  Served with a green salad, this meal comes together in a flash.

Pumpkin Gnocchi with Gorgonzola Cream Sauce
Ingredients
1 package of pumpkin gnocchi
2 tablespoons butter
2 shallots, finely chopped
14 ounces mixed mushrooms, sliced
1 teaspoon dried sage
1 cup heavy cream
salt and pepper, to taste
1/4 cup gorgonzola

Directions
1. Start a pot of water to boil.
2. Meanwhile, melt the butter on medium high heat and add the shallots, cooking until golden.  Add the mushrooms and cook until soft and the water has evaporated part of the way.  Add the sage and cook for about one more minute.  Add the cream and simmer until thickened, about 10 minutes.  Finally, salt and pepper to taste, add the gorgonzola and stir until melted into the sauce.
3. When you are ready to serve, toss the gnocchi in the boiling water, cooking about 2-3 minutes, remove when they begin to float on top of the water.
4. Serve with love.

Happy Leap Day!!!

Love,
jessicaisbaking

One thought on “Leap of Faith

Leave a Reply

