Quinoa With Chick Peas and Tomatoes

I thought I would continue sharing my “regular food” with you (hope you didn’t miss my Egg Muffins yesterday!).  By regular food, I mean food that we eat a lot of, not desserts and decedent delights.  While I love to eat rich food, I tend to be busy during the week and we eat much of the same sort of thing over and over.  I love to make a grainy, filling salad to eat for lunch during the week.  Paired with sliced apples, carrot sticks and some mixed nuts, I am good to go.  Sometimes I serve it on a bed of spinach or baby lettuce!

I threw this together in a short amount of time, looking for something filling and easy to throw together with ingredients on hand.

Quinoa With Chick Peas and Tomatoes
Ingredients
1 cup dry quinoa, cooked and fluffed with a fork
1 can chickpeas
1 pint grape tomatoes, sliced in half
2 garlic cloves, minced
3 tablespoons red wine vinegar
2 tablespoons EVOO
Salt and pepper, to taste

Directions
1. Start the quinoa to cook.  While cooking, rinse the chickpeas until the water runs clear, slice the tomatoes and whisk the minced garlic, EVOO and vinegar with salt and pepper.  Add the tomatoes and chickpeas and toss with the dressing.
2. After the quinoa has been cooked and cooled a bit, add it to the rest of the ingredients and toss.  Wait for the entire mixture to cool and put in the fridge.  Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

