Chocolatey Chocolate Caramel Cookies

Hey!  It’s me here!  Sorry for the no talky lately.  I have been busy with a paper, new job and some entertaining on top of that!  I feel lucky to be busy with what I have.  It means life is going pretty well.  Unfortunately, I am also battling a leeeeetle sinus infection so what happens when one’s face hurts?  Make cookies!!

I had been craving cookies for a while so I am glad I finally got to my oven.  I have had several bags of Kraft Caramel Bits squirreled away from Christmas baking and they were calling to me.  I wanted to make a caramelly cookie with them.   I also had a bar of chocolate leftover from Christmas that I chopped into chunks to add into these gems.  I used my Deep Dark Cocoa from King Arthur’s which in hindsight, probably overpowered the caramels but these hit the spot anyway.  I think my sinus infection is dissipating!

Chocolatey Chocolate Caramel Cookies
Adapted from Rookie Cookie

Ingredients
2 cups flour
2/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
3/4 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
1 cup butter, softened
1 1/2 cups sugar
2 eggs
2 tsp pure vanilla extract
1 cup caramel bits
1 1/4 cup semi-sweet chocolate chunks

Directions
Set oven to 350°F.
Stir together flour, cocoa, baking soda and salt. Set aside. In a large mixing bowl, beat butter, sugar. Add eggs and vanilla until fluffy. Gradually add flour mixture, beating well. Stir in caramel bits and chocolate chunks. Drop by rounded tablespoons onto parchment lined cookie sheets.

Leave a Reply

