Chocolate Mousse

This title does not say what it should say.  It should say, “The Easiest, No Taste Sacrificed Chocolate Mousse of Your Life.”  Other potential names:

  • Slap Yo’ Momma CHocolate Mousse (umm, don’t ever slap your Momma)
  • Shut the Front Door Chocolate Mousse
  • Get Yer Own Chocolate Mousse, This One’s Mine
  • I Can Eat Chocolate Mousse For Breakfast Dessert Because I Have a Blog (this may or may not have happened)

We can thank my dear dad for this recipe.  He kindly snipped it out of the newspaper and handed it to my darling mother. My darling mother later sent the recipe to her culinary compadres after she and my dear dad fought over the remaining mousse pot.  The article mentions some nonsense about Julia Child’s method taking too long.  My apologies to she-who-started-it-all (Julia Child) but I won’t be trying her way anytime soon. (let’s be honest, I’m sure I’ll do it her way at some point because I love to do things the hard way.)

There is an option to increase the milk or put in a liquor.  I used Disaronno (amaretto liquor) but the taste doesn’t really come through very much.  I think Grand Marnier will be my next try.  I would do coffee or espresso but we are a little caffeine sensitive.  If you are pondering what dessert to make the next time you need to impress someone, I believe you have found your answer.  Perfect for a party, since all the work is done ahead of time.

Bill Hutton’s Chocolate Mousse
From the Wall Street Journal
serves 6

Ingredients
7 ounces semisweet or bittersweet chocolate (no more than 62% cocoa)
1/3 cup milk
2 tablespoons sugar
pinch of kosher salt or sea salt
2 tablespoons flavorless vegetable oil
1 1/2 tablespoons liqueur (or espresso or increase the milk by this amount)
2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
1 cup heavy cream

Instructions
1.  Blast chocolate in a food processor until very finely ground.  Leave it in the processor bowl.

2.  Bring milk, sugar, and salt to a simmer in a small saucepan, stirring to dissolve the sugar.  Turn on the processor and pour sweetened hot milk through feed tube, processing for 15-20 seconds, or until chocolate has melted.

3.  Add oil, liqueur, or espresso and vanilla.  Process for another 10 seconds to blend thoroughly.

4.  Scrape mixture into a large bowl and let cool about 10 minutes.

5.  Beat cream until it just starts to hold a very soft shape (not even close to stiff).  Fold 1/3 of cream into chocolate.  Fold in remaining cream.  For smoothest possible mousse, stop folding the moment the cream is incorporated into the chocolate.  Immediately scoop into six pretty dessert glasses.

6.  Refrigerate until mousse sets, about 1 hour, or until easy to serve (keeps up to 2 days).  Grind a little black pepper or flour de sel over each serving (I omitted this, as I felt the liqueur added enough bite).

Leave a Reply

