Chocolate Cake for the Win

In theory, I can’t think of anything I like more: chocolate cake.  The reality?  By the time I have made it, I’m sort of over it.  This has nothing to do with the fact that I have taste tested it, step by step.  Nothing at all.  I mean, who does that?  People without willpower.

Based on extensive experiments (sample size: 1 cake – this one), I am pretty obsessed with this website: Sprinkle Bakes.  The instructions and description were spot on.  I spotted it early in the summer and vowed to make it for my birthday.  However, birthday time rolled around and there just wasn’t enough time in the day or enough people to eat it.  So when my dear cousin’s birthday rolled around, along with a nice outdoor housewarming party, I knew it was time to make it.  Did I mention she loves chocolate?  Perfect fit.

I followed the instructions and broke the process up into 2 days and it never felt overly laborious.  I adored the dark chocolate whiskey pastry cream.  That might be making a reappearance.  The milk chocolate marshmallow frosting wasn’t my favorite, but it was easy to work with.  Overall, the cake didn’t travel that well.  It’s a little too warm out for cake transport yet.  Did I mention I was exporting it across state lines?  Cupcakes travel better.  It wasn’t a major crisis but I was glad I took these pictures before I left the house.

If you are looking for a labor of love and a delicious outcome, this is your cake.  Go to Sprinkle Bakes for the Seven Sins Chocolate Cake.  Maybe I’ll start penance tomorrow.

3 thoughts on “Chocolate Cake for the Win

Leave a Reply

