Planning is next to Godliness- meal plan WO 6/21/15

  
I usually do a ton of cooking on Sunday so I don’t have to cook much during the workweek.  I tried a lot of new recipes this week and I have some winners!!  Ding ding!

First up are blueberry muffin bites.  Think Lara bar in blueberry muffin form!  The flavor is just like a blueberry muffin and the lemon zest balances out the sweetness of the dates and blueberries.  

I braised vegetables a lot this week.  Thekitchn.com did a focus on them so I had to try a couple types.  These simple braised carrots with dill are finished with a bit of sherry vinegar and quite refreshing.  And the braised radishes have a unique flavor while maintaining that radish crunch.  

Next up, I poached beets in a vinegar solution.  It was easy (no peeling beforehand) and made the kitchen smell fantastic.  I love beets cooked any old way but it was a new method and I’m hooked!  

For Sunday dinner, I stuck to an old standard: root vegetable mash, served with bacon apple pork chops.  It was my first time using arrowroot as a thickener and I’m all in.  It was easy and no strange flavor!  

I made a few other things but I haven’t adequately sampled them so I will wait to share my biased opinion.  The excitement today is my first day of our new (to me) CSA.  We are getting watermelon, cantaloupe, peaches, grapefruit, cucumbers, tomatoes, and summer squash!  Welcome to summer!  

Leave a Reply

